Trent Grimsey, English Channel Record Swim

Trent Grimsey's English Channel record swim was among the 15 selected nominees for the 2012 World Open Water Swimming Performance of the Year.

The World Open Water Swimming Performance of the Year is meant to honor efforts or swims - successful or not, short or long - that (1) best embody the spirit of open water swimming, (2) are representative of the sense of adventure, tenacity and perseverance that open water swimmers are known for, and (3) have most positively influenced the world of open water swimming.

His nomination from the World Open Water Swimming Association reads,

"The English Channel is the most hallowed waterway in the world; the bellwether venue of open water swimming; the blue chip of the sport. It was made famous in 1875 and remains the epitome, the embodiment, the quintessence challenge among distance swimmers to this day. Simply known as The Channel, its record holders are household names in the open water world. And Trent Grimsey, a rail-thin pool swimmer intelligently transformed himself over the years, strategically getting stronger, thicker, faster, smarter so his swim from Dover to Cap Gris Nez would be one for the history books. His pilot, his crew, the conditions and the course all played a role in his 6 hour 55 minute record-setting swim. For his lengthy preparation period, for his strategic approach to The Channel, for his humble nature combined with an intense passion, Trent Grimsey’s record-setting English Channel swim is a worthy nominee for the 2012 WOWSA Open Water Swimming Performance of the Year."

The nominations are meant to recognize and honor some of the best efforts and swims that the global open water swimming world has seen. Reducing the number of nominees to 15 was extraordinarily difficult due to the incredible efforts and exploits of thousands of women in the sport. Extreme swimmers, disabled swimmers, ice swimmers, marathon swimmers, professional swimmers, coaches, administrators, pilots, and swimmers from all walks of life thoroughly impressed their peers, the public and the media with their open water swimming exploits throughout 2012.

The 2009 recipient of the World Open Water Swimming Performance of the Year was the Cayman Islands' Andrew Smiley who completed the RCP Tiburon Mile in San Francisco, California. The 2010 recipient was the 202-mile relay swim by the Ventura Deep Six that swam down the coast of California. The 2011 recipient was Tunisia's Nejib Belhedi who swam the 1400K Swim Across Tunisia.

The 2012 WOWSA Performance of the Year nominees are
(listed in alphabetical order of their first name):

1. Alina Warren (Scotland), Swimming Great Glen Way
2. Brenton Williams (South Africa), Deep Blue Flying
3. Dan Projansky (USA), Flying Down The Red River
4. Dutch Ladies First (Netherlands), English Channel Relay Record
5. Frank Flowers (Cayman Islands), Blossoming In The Cayman Islands
6. Haley Anderson (USA), Silver Lining At the Olympics
7. James Pittar (Australia), Shelley Beach Swim
8. Juan Ignacio Martínez Fernández-Villamil (Spain), The Heart of Navia
9. Lexie Kelly (USA), Open Water Swimming Archivist
10. Night Train Swimmers (USA/New Zealand), SF to SB Relay
11. Penny Palfrey (Australia), Marathon Adventurer
12. Philippe Coizon (France), Bering Strait Crossing
13. Saint Martin Island Long Distance Channel Swimming in Bangladesh
14. Stephen Redmond (Ireland), Tsugaru Channel Crossing
15. Trent Grimsey (Australia), English Channel Record


Online voting will take place here at WOWSA until December 31st.

Grimsey (nicknamed Trento) is a member of the Australian National Open Water Swimming Team, won the 2012 FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix professional marathon swimming circuit and set the English Channel world record in 6 hours 55 minutes in September.

Since making the switch from pool to open water in 2008 after just missing out on Australia's Olympic Team for Beijing in the 1500 freestyle he has won more open water races than any other human on the planet.

During 2012, he also won the shortened 2012 Maratón Internacional Hernandarias – Paraná in Argentina and set a record at the 2012 Maratona del Golfo Capri-Napoli in 6 hours 29 minutes. He has also won the RCP Tiburon Mile in San Francisco and a number of other ocean swims from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (King of the Sea competitions) to his native Queensland.

Copyright © 2012 by Open Water Source

We are using cookies on our website

Please confirm, if you accept our tracking cookies. You can also decline the tracking, so you can continue to visit our website without any data sent to third party services.