Esther Nuñez Morera, Professional Marathon Swimming Champion

Esther Nuñez Morera was among the 15 selected nominees for the 2012 World Open Water Swimming Woman of the Year that were announced today.

The World Open Water Swimming Woman of the Year honors the woman who (1) best embodies the spirit of open water swimming, (2) possesses the sense of adventure, tenacity and perseverance that open water swimmers are known for, and (3) has most positively influenced the world of open water swimming during the year.

Her nomination put forth by the World Open Water Swimming Association reads,

"Esther Nuñez Morera competed in 7 out of 9 marathon swims during 2012 to capture her second FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix championship (her first was in 2007). She completed the 15 km Maratón Acuática Internactional Ciudad de Rosario, 57 km Maratón Acuática Internacional Santa Fe - Coronda, 15 km Maratón Cancún, 36 km Maratona del Golfo Capri-Napoli, 32 km Traversée Internationale du lac St-Jean, 34 km Traversée Internationale du lac Memphrémagog and 33 km Ohrid Lake Swim Marathon. Traveling on the pro circuit together with her husband Damián Blaum, Nuñez raced in different continents in rivers, lakes and seas battling the world's fastest marathon swimmers, never complaining, always smiling and appreciative of her lifestyle and the support she receives from volunteers and crew. For her athleticism, for her competitive spirit, for her calm, cool and composed nature throughout 222 km of racing in both warm- and cold-water conditions, Esther Nuñez Morera is a worthy nominee for the 2012 WOWSA Open Water Swimming Woman of the Year.."

The 2012 nominees are (listed in alphabetical order of their first name):

1. Ana Marcela Cunha (Brazil), World Professional Marathon Champion
2. Anna-Carin Nordin (Sweden), Oceans Seven Swimmer
3. Annaleise Carr (Canada), Young Marathon Swimmer
4. Catherine Vogt (USA), Dual Olympic Coach
5. Diana Nyad (USA), Xtreme Dreamer
6. Esther Nuñez Morera (Spain), Professional Marathon Swimming Champion
7. Grace van der Byl (USA), Marathon Record Breaker
8. Janel Jorgensen McArdle (USA), Swim Across America President
9. Julia Washbourne (Hong Kong), Eco-Swimming Aquapreneur
10. Karen Gaffney (USA), Swimming Philanthropist
11. Keri-Anne Payne (Great Britain), British Open Water Icon
12. Pat Gallant-Charette (USA), Channel Swimming Late Bloomer
13. Risztov Éva (Hungary), Olympic Champion
14. Shelley Taylor-Smith (Australia), Pioneering Administrator
15. Tina Neill (USA), San Clemente Channel Swimmer

Online voting will take place here at WOWSA until December 31st.

Nuñez is a professional open water swimmer from Spain who specializes in ultra-marathon swims. She has won the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix two times, in 2007 and 2012. She won the 6 km Maratona del Golfo Capri-Napoli in Italy in 2012 as she travels the world with her husband and fellow professional marathon swimmer Damian Blaum who also competes on the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix and FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup series.

Copyright © 2012 by Open Water Source

We are using cookies on our website

Please confirm, if you accept our tracking cookies. You can also decline the tracking, so you can continue to visit our website without any data sent to third party services.