Trent Grimsey, Professional Marathon Swimmer

Trent Grimsey of Australia was among the 15 selected nominees for the 2012 World Open Water Swimming Man of the Year that were announced today. The World Open Water Swimming Man of the Year honors the person who (1) best embodies the spirit of open water swimming, (2) possesses the sense of adventure, tenacity and perseverance that open water swimmers are known for, and (3) has most positively influenced the world of open water swimming during the year.

His nomination from the World Open Water Swimming Association reads,

"Few individuals have had such a busy or successful year as professional marathon swimming champion Trent Grimsey. His Barraesque schedule required hundreds of thousands of air miles from his native Queensland to participate in the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix events, invitational swims and the English Channel. Not only did he win the overall FINA Grand Prix series with two gutsy wins at the 32 km Traversée Internationale du lac St-Jean and the 34 km Traversée Internationale du lac Memphrémagog in Canada, but he also broke the most iconic record with his 6 hour 55 minute English Channel crossing and the long-held Maratona del Golfo Capri-Napoli in Italy record in 6 hours 29 minutes. Along the way, he also competed in marathon swims in the 18.5 km BCT Gdynia Marathon in Poland, the 57 km Maratón Acuática Internacional Santa Fe – Coronda in Argentina, and won the Oceanian Championships 10km in New Caledonia and a number of ocean swims in Australia and New Zealand. For his endurance to compete in races and travel to 4 continents, for his consistently positive outlook and his humble personality, for his record-breaking swims and numerous victories at the highest levels of the sport, Trent Grimsey is a worthy nominee for the 2012 WOWSA Open Water Swimming Man of the Year."

The 2012 nominees are (listed in alphabetical order of their first name):

1. Benjamin Schulte (Guam) – Fearless Olympic Marathoner
2. Craig Dietz (USA) – The Limbless Waterman
3. Colin Hill (Great Britain) – Olympic Showman
4. Doug Woodring (Hong Kong) – Ocean Environmentalist
5. Milko van Gool (Netherlands) – Humanitarian Swimmer
6. Oussama Mellouli (Tunisia) – Olympic Champion
7. Pierre Lafontaine (Canada) – Able & Ambitious Administrator
8. Ram Barkai (South Africa) – Mindful Ice Man
9. Salvatore Cimmino (Italy) – Swimming in the Seas of the Globe
10. Stephen Redmond (Ireland) - Oceans Seven Pioneer
11. Thomas Lurz (Germany) - Ambassador and Gentleman
12. Trent Grimsey (Australia) - English Channel Record Breaker
13. Wayne Riddin (South Africa) – Midmar Mile Director
14. Wayne Soutter (South Africa) – The Unthinkable
15. Morrie Chiang (Taiwan) – Sun Lake Moon Director

Online voting will take place here at WOWSA until December 31st.

The 2008 recipient was Randy Nutt of the USA. The 2009 recipient was Petar Stoychev of Bulgaria. The 2010 recipient was Marcos Diaz of the Dominican Republic. The 2011 recipient was Jamie Patrick of the USA.

Grimsey, nicknamed Trento, is a member of the Australian National Open Water Swimming Team and is the holder of the record of the English Channel. He also won the 2012 FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix circuit. He won the shortened 2012 Maratón Internacional Hernandarias – Paraná in Argentina and set a record at the 2012 Maratona del Golfo Capri-Napoli in 6 hours 29 minutes, breaking the 1982 record held by Paul Asmuth.

He participated in the 2011 FINA World Championships in Shanghai, China and on the FINA 10KM Marathon Swimming World Cup and the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix series. He also won the 2010 RCP Tiburon Mile in San Francisco, California and a number of other ocean swims from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (King of the Sea competitions) to his native Queensland.

Copyright © 2012 by Open Water Source

Add a comment

You must be logged in to comment.